April 27, 2020

The University of Washington has announced the 10 winners of the 2020 Husky Green Awards, as well as one Husky Green Legacy Award honoree. 

This year's winners include students, faculty, staff and groups who have demonstrated leadership, initiative and dedication to campus sustainability. This is the 11th year the Husky Green Awards have been presented by the UW Environment Stewardship Committee to recognize the individuals and groups who lead the way in sustainability at the UW.

Students, faculty and staff from all UW campuses are eligible to nominate and receive Husky Green Awards, and all winners are selected from nominations made by the UW committee during Winter quarter. The winners are traditionally announced as part of the UW's Earth Day events.

All three UW campuses are represented among this year's awardees, which include six individuals and five groups.

This year's Legacy Award winner is Elise Glassman, who was a project manager with UW Sustainability since the office was established in 2008 before moving to a similar role with the Office of Budget and Planning this year. Her most recent major project with UW Sustainability was managing the development of the UW's Sustainability Plan. The Husky Green Legacy Award was created in 2013 to recognize long-standing sustainability efforts and contributions at the UW.

Learn more about the winners

2020 Husky Green Award winners

(See the full list and details on their sustainability work on the 2020 Husky Green Award winners page.)

Shelby Carroll, student, UW Green Greeks
Kate Simonen, faculty, Architecture
Yona Sipos, faculty, Nutritional Sciences
Jan Whittington, faculty, Urban Design and Planning
Ursula Valdez, faculty, UW Bothell
Alpha Omicron Pi, student group
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Office, staff team, College of the Environment
Sustainability Curriculum Coalition, student group
UW Tacoma Giving Garden
UW Tower Green Team

Legacy Award winner: Elise Glassman