The 2021 Husky Green Award celebration brought together Husky Green Award honorees from 2021 and 2020, in our first opportunity to recognize their sustainability efforts in person. The Husky Green Awards are given to students, faculty and staff who have shown leadership, dedication and initiative in promoting sustainability at all three University of Washington campuses.

The event was held at wǝɫǝbʔaltxʷ – Intellectual House on October 20, 2021 at 3 p.m. A brief ceremony was followed by a reception with light snacks.

The 2021 and 2020 Husky Green Awardees were:

2021 Husky Green Awards

  • Casey Crane, staff, Housing & Food Services (UW Dining)
  • Chris Meek, faculty, College of Built Environments
  • Ellen E. Moore, faculty, UW Tacoma School of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
  • Emily Oven, laboratory staff, School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences
  • Green Greeks Executive Committee: Julie Ira, Liz Platin, Grace Rossi, Marissa London, and Chris Gould, student group leadership
  • Husky Green Legacy winner: Julia Parrish, faculty, College of the Environment
  • Husky Green Legacy winner: The UW Farm, group

2020 Husky Green Awards

  • Alpha Omicron Pi, student group
  • College of the Environment's Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, staff team, College of the Environment
  • Jan Whittington, faculty, Urban Design and Planning
  • Kate Simonen, faculty, Architecture
  • Shelby Carrol, student, UW Green Greeks
  • Sustainability Curriculum Coalition, student Group
  • Ursula Valdez, faculty, UW Bothell School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
  • UW Tacoma's Giving Garden, UW Tacoma initiative
  • UW Tower Green Team, staff team
  • Yona Sipos, faculty, Nutritional Sciences Program, Department of Environmental & Occupational Sciences
  • Legacy Award winner: Elise Glassman, staff, UW Sustainability/Office of Budget and Planning

Husky Green Award celebration flyer