April 21, 2021

The University of Washington has announced the five recipients of the 2021 Husky Green Awards, as well as two Husky Green Legacy Award honorees.

This year's winners include students, faculty and staff who have demonstrated leadership, initiative and dedication to campus sustainability. This is the 12th year the Husky Green Awards have been presented by the UW Environment Stewardship Committee to recognize the individuals and groups who lead the way in sustainability at the UW.

Students, faculty, staff and groups from all UW campuses are eligible for the Husky Green Awards, and all winners are selected from nominations made by the UW community. The winners are traditionally announced as part of the UW's Earth Day celebrations.

The Husky Green Legacy Awards are given by the selection committee to recognize individuals and groups who have made sustained, long-standing contributions to sustainability at the UW.
This year's Legacy Award winners are Julia Parrish, a faculty member of the College of the Environment, and The UW Farm.

Parrish has long supported student sustainability efforts and education at the UW, including an instrumental role in the development of the Campus Sustainability Fund (CSF) and founding the Program on the Environment’s Sustainability Studio class, giving students an opportunity to apply sustainability learning to real world applications on campus.

The UW Farm has provided a space for students to practice and study urban agriculture and sustainability for many years. Today, the UW Farm covers 1.5 acres on three sites at the Center for Urban Horticulture, Mercer Court and McMahon Hall. The UW Farm also promotes education about food in the urban environment and works to create a sense of community around its efforts. It provides hands-on opportunities for students to dig into food production, and partners with groups across campus to educate the UW community about our food systems.

Learn more about the 2021 recipients

2021 Husky Green Award winners

(See the full list and details on their sustainability work on the 2021 Husky Green Award winners page.)

Casey Crane, staff, Housing & Food Services (UW Dining)
Chris Meek, faculty, College of Built Environments
Ellen E. Moore, faculty, UW Tacoma School of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
Emily Oven, laboratory staff, School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences
Green Greeks Executive Committee: Julie Ira, Liz Platin, Grace Rossi, Marissa London, and Chris Gould, student group leadership

Legacy Award winners

Julia Parrish, faculty, College of the Environment
The UW Farm